The Alabama Cannabis Commission held its first organizational meeting

By Michael Key
And Megan Mann

The Alabama Cannabis Commission held its first organizational meeting on Thursday, August 12, 2021.

Darren Wesley’s new law, known as the Hall of Fame Law, was signed by Governor Kay Eve in early May. 17. Ivy recognized Senator Tim Melson, the author of the bill, for his diligence in bringing this bill to the Alabama Legislature.

“Senator Melson has worked hard on this math and this program for many years, and I know he is proud to see it succeed,” Iway said.

After the introduction, EV spoke about the activities of the commission.

“Ladies and gentlemen, don’t make a mistake before the work is done,” she said. “Your work is really cut for you. Also, now that Alabama has merged with 35 other states, including the District of Columbia, it is very important what you do and how you do it because it joins the legal use of medical cannabis.

It will be up to you to appoint any of the elected leaders in the state to establish medical cannabis production standards in Alabama.

Ivy also spoke of the need to maintain transparency, saying: “Transparency and ethics are essential to this endeavor.”

After Ivy spoke with the commission, Dr. Steve Stokes was elected chairman of the commission, and Rex Vaughn served as co-chairman.

Four members have been appointed by the committee to find the executive director of the commission.

The team also set up a doctor’s certification committee. By January 1, 2022, the Commission is required to be ready to approve doctors. Training guidelines are one of the top priorities for any doctor who wants or plans to participate in a medical cannabis registry and seed sales system. To obtain a certificate, you are required to take each training course and pass a test on the subject.

Other agendas included:

– Develop a system that allows 20% of the minority producers

– Set up a system that allows for six processors

– Establish a system that allows for three distributions

– Discusses the need for a permanent meeting place and hiring administrative staff

– Discuss different dates and deadlines as outlined in the law

– Discusses preparing a video conference for those who are unable to attend meetings

– Discussed research donations to an individual or institution to examine the historical perspective of marijuana and to examine the results and details of post-operative pain management.

Stoke said of the committee’s research funding: “Within a year we have our revenue and 30% of our revenue goes to research.” I hope institutions like UAB, South Alabama and other four-year institutions will start thinking about some support.

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 25, 2021. Thereafter, all meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month until the end of the year. The next topic of discussion is the search for the Executive Director.

Committee members –

Dr. Steve Stokes – Retired Oncologist, Former Marine, currently on the Board of Trustees of the United States

James Harwell – Retired in the Green Thumb Kindergarten in the gardening industry

Taylor Hatch – Boozer Farms

Dr. Angela Martin – Pediatrician from Aniston, Opioid Task Force and Women’s Health Office

Rex von – Agricultural Industry, from Huntville

Dr. Eric Jensen – Biochemistry, Veterinarian, has also worked in the poultry industry

Charles Price – Retired District Court Judge
Laurie Skellton – Specialist in Health Law

Dwight Gamble – Bank Executive
Dr. Sam Blackmore – Pharmacist

Dr. William Salsky –— ul linologist

Consultants who did not vote:

Dr. Jerry Zhalarsky

Katherine Robertson – Senior Adviser to the Office of the Attorney General

Dion Robinson – Special Agent with Alabama Law Enforcement


Leave a Comment